Most of us are peace-loving people. Unfortunately, we have still not managed to make the Christmas message of “peace on earth” a reality. Repeatedly this makes us sad and also angry. Let us continue to work within the realm of our possibilities so that everything which hurts and separates us will at some point be overcome.

It’s a blessing that we know a universal language – namely music. It is capable of reaching our hearts directly. I experienced this firsthand and intensively during an event at the Maulbronn Monastery. Despite the general lack of time I must tell you about it. By the way, I have found one can influence this simply by slowing down.

So it was advertised that the organist Wolfgang Seifen would improvise music to accompany the silent film Faust. The film, directed by William Murnau was released in 1926. What was presented was simply incredible. The film was projected upon the screen, which was placed above the altar. And Wolfgang Seifen accompanied it, improvising for two whole hours in an ingenious style and manner. During the struggle between good and evil, in the end the Archangel Gabriel set himself in Mephisto’s way. ONE word could undo his pact, as Murnau had the Archangel say in the subtitles. Mephisto begged for the word, the music swelled increasingly, Seifen pulled out all the stops, he produced sounds that filled the monastery church and my soul to the very last corner. Indescribably intense. And then it glowed in the dark nave above the altar. It practically took one’s breath away. Everyone cheered. I applauded, shouting “bravo” with arms outstretched up to the organist.

In the meantime the Word, as it appeared below, was emblazoned on the screen, while Jesus was hanging behind it. This remains unforgettable to me.

I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a peaceful, healthy New Year.

Marlis

Die meisten von uns sind friedfertige Menschen. Leider haben wir es dennoch bis heute nicht geschafft die Weihnachtsbotschaft „Friede auf Erden“ wahr werden zu lassen. Das macht immer wieder traurig und auch wütend. Arbeiten wir im Rahmen unserer Möglichkeiten weiter daran, dass alles was uns schmerzt und trennt, irgendwann überwunden sein wird.

Ein Segen, dass wir eine universelle Sprache kennen – nämlich die Musik. Sie ist dazu in der Lage, ganz direkt unser Innerstes zu erreichen. Hautnah und intensiv habe ich das dieses Jahr bei einer Veranstaltung im Kloster Maulbronn erlebt. Das muss ich kurz erzählen, trotz des allgemeinen Zeitmangels. Den kann man übrigens beeinflussen, wenn man einfach langsamer macht, habe ich festgestellt.

Also, angekündigt war, dass der Organist Wolfgang Seifen zum Stummfilm „Faust“ improvisieren wird. Der Film erschien 1926 unter der Regie von Wilhelm Murnau. Was geboten wurde, war einfach unglaublich. Auf die Leinwand über dem Altar wurde der Film geworfen. Und Wolfgang Seifen hat ihn mit seinem Spiel zwei volle Stunden auf geniale Art und Weise improvisierend begleitet. Während des Kampfes zwischen Gut und Böse, stellte sich am Ende der Erzengel Gabriel Mephisto in den Weg. EIN Wort könne seinen Pakt zunichte machen, ließ Murnau den Erzengel im Untertitel sagen. Mephisto bettelte um das Wort, die Musik schwoll immer mehr an, Seifen zog alle Register, erzeugte Klänge, die die Klosterkirche und meine Seele bis in den letzten Winkel ausfüllten. Unbeschreiblich intensiv. Und dann leuchtete es im dunklen Kirchenschiff über dem Altar. Es blieb einem fast die Luft weg. Alle jubelten. Ich applaudierte bravorufend mit ausgestreckten Armen nach oben zum Organisten.
Auf der Leinwand prangte währenddessen das Wort, so wie Ihr es unten seht, und dahinter hing Jesus. Das bleibt mir unvergesslich.

Frohe Weihnachten und ein friedliches gesundes neues Jahr wünsche ich allen.

Marlis